Domaine du Paternel has been part of our family for three generations. As inheritors of this soil, we cultivate it with respect and passion in order to preserve it intact and pass it on to future generations.

 

In 1943, two sisters catherine and jeanne santini, and their brother antoine, became the proprietors of the paternel farm. It was, at the time, being used for mixed crops: vines, fruit trees, cereal crops, meaning a large amount of changes were needed taking several years.
Catherine’s husband, pierre cathinaud took charge of the restoration of the property. The first bottling took place in 1951. An erudite gourmet, passionate about cooking and wine, he devoted his life to the development of the domaine.

In 1962 his nephew, jean-pierre santini, joined him. A son to two pharmacists, he preferred working with the soil than at a desk. He cleared the hillside and recreated the old terraces where the domaine’s vines are planted today. His drive has seen the vineyard spread from ten to twenty hectares. Jean-pierre and his wife, chantal, have developed the business by marketing to restaurant owners in provence and the côte d’azur, as well as exporting abroad.

In 1992, the third generation arrived at the domaine. Jean-christophe joined his parents. In 1998, after studying oenology, olivier arrived followed by his sister, laetitia. As a close-knit team with a range of skills they distributed the tasks among themselves. Jean-christophe took charge of the vineyard. Olivier took responsibility for the wine making. Laetitia took over sales and marketing and management of the administrative side of the business. In order to express the full wealth of the cassis terroir, they decided to grow their vines organically.

Since 2009, the santini family has worked with bernard and monique piché for the production and marketing of the domaine couronne de charlemagne wines.

The domaine du paternel and domaine couronne de charlemagne wines are certified organic. Today, the family members work alongside a team of motivated and skilled employees, and together they apply themselves to continuing the work that was begun over sixty years ago.

Le Domaine du Paternel est dans notre famille depuis trois générations. Héritiers de cette terre, nous la cultivons avec respect et passion pour la préserver intacte et la transmettre aux générations futures.


En 1943, Catherine, Jeanne et Antoine Santini, trois frère et sœurs deviennent propriétaires de la ferme du Paternel. Exploitée en polyculture, vignes, arbres fruitiers, céréales, elle nécessite une importante restructuration, qui prendra plusieurs années.
C’est Pierre Cathinaud, l’époux de Catherine, qui se charge de la remise en état de la propriété. La première mise en bouteille a lieu en 1951. Fin gourmet, érudit, passionné de cuisine et de vin, il consacre sa vie au développement du domaine.


En 1962, Jean-Pierre Santini, son neveu, le rejoint. Fils de pharmaciens, il préfère la terre à une voie toute tracée en officine. Il défriche la colline et recrée les anciennes restanques où s’implantent, aujourd’hui les vignes du domaine. Sous son impulsion, le vignoble s’étend de dix à vingt hectares. Avec Chantal, son épouse, ils développent la commercialisation auprès des restaurateurs de la Provence et de la Côte d'Azur ainsi qu'à l'exportation.

En 1992, la troisième génération arrive au domaine. Jean-Christophe rejoint ses parents. En 1998, Olivier après des études d’œnologie s’installe à son tour, suivi de sa sœur Laetitia. Soudés et complémentaires, ils se répartissent les tâches. Jean-Christophe s’occupe du vignoble. Olivier prend en charge les vinifications. Laetitia la commercialisation et la gestion administrative. Afin d'exprimer toute la richesse du terroir de Cassis, ils décident de cultiver leur vignoble en agriculture biologique.

Depuis 2009, la famille Santini travaille avec Bernard et Monique Piche pour l'exploitation et la commercialisation des vins du Domaine de la Couronne de Charlemagne.

Les vins du Domaine du Paternel et du Domaine de la Couronne de Charlemagne sont certifiées : vins biologiques. Aujourd'hui, les membres de la famille travaillent, aux côtés d’une équipe de salariés, motivée et compétente, et ensemble ils s’attachent à continuer l’œuvre commencée, il y a plus de soixante dix ans.